RSS Feed

Blackberry Lemon Crisp for Emergencies

Posted on

Today was one of those days. Actually, it was a full 48 hours, where I’ve been getting bad news after bad news, from all corners of the bad news spectrum: financial, medical, scholarly, and familial.

I haven’t been dealing with it quite as well as I would have hoped, just because it’s hard to handle it all, without going completely mad. And I’ve gotten to that point, twice, today. An hour or so ago, I was able to pull myself up out of the disaster and stop feeling sorry for myself.

I looked up a few things online and turned on my Nigella show, and started to pick up the pieces again. I organized and Post-It’d everything I could imagine that needed to be sorted through, organized, and managed, and then I found this recipe.

It’s perfect for one of those days, and I just about over 2 cups of Blackberries waiting to be used up, and baked.

excuse the slight blurring of the image

Adapted from http://www.pinchmysalt.com

Serves 2-4

2 cups fresh or frozen and slightly defrosted blackberries
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
1 scant tablespoon + 1/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour
pinch of salt
1/3 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
3 tablespoons cold butter, chopped into small pieces

I also added some cardamom, about 1/7 teaspoon.

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Butter a 1-quart baking dish (or as I did, which was in two 16 oz.  ramekin dishes).

2. In a small bowl, toss together blackberries, lemon juice, sugar, scant tablespoon of flour, cardamom (if using), and small pinch of salt.  Pour berry mixture into a greased 1-quart baking dish or divide between the ramekins.

3. In a separate small bowl, stir together oats, 1/3 cup flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and lemon zest.  Add pieces of cold butter and cut in using a pastry blender or two knives (or rub in with your fingertips) until crumbly.  Sprinkle topping over the berries.

4. Place baking dish(es) on a sheet pan and bake, uncovered, at 375 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes, or until filling is bubbly and topping is lightly browned.  Serve with vanilla ice cream.

I don't have Vanilla Ice cream, but my homemade Pomegranate works just as well.

About Julia

I live in Los Angeles and am not loving it. Although the city lights are enchanting, the traffic is not. I love food of all kinds, colors, reading, wine, and friends. I suppose you could say that I'm a closeted housewife, because for all my wild and funloving ways, I equally enjoy crocheting, cats, baths, and a good glass of wine alone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

