RSS Feed

chocolate-caramel thumbprints

Posted on

I just had to make these cookies. They were fantastic for the task I had in store. I’m going over my friend’s house for Easter, and her mother is like my rival baker/cook. She’s fantastic, but I thought I’d offer to help and make dessert.  They were already done with a great store-bought cake, but seeing as how I offered, my friend suggested I make some small cookies, to put over the cake, as a decoration.

My first thought immediately went to thumbprint cookies. They are small but fancy, but with all the crazy recipes I was attempting today I was going to go with a simple vanilla and raspberry thumbprint. Until I found these guys!

Yaaay chocolate and Caramel goodness

courtesy Better Homes and Gardens Ultimate Cookie Book

1 egg

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Ghiradelli)

1/4 teaspoon salt (I used kosher and added 1/2 teaspoon)

1/2 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup sugar

2 tabelspoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

16 vanilla caramels, unwrapped (my grocery store didn’t have these, so I used werther’s soft caramels)

3 tablespoons whipping cream

1 1/4 cups finely chopped pecans

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate pieces

1 teaspoon shortening

Separate egg; place yolk and white in seperate bwls. Cover and chill egg white until needed. In a medium bowl stir together the flour, cocoa powder, and salt; set aside.

Like so, minus the spilt egg white

In a large bowl beat butter with an electril mixer on meduim to high speed for 30 seconds. Add sugar. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl ocasionally. Beat int he egg yollk, milk and vanilla until combined. Beat in the flour mixture. Cover and chill dough for 2 hours or until easy to handle (I needed the full two hours before mine was ready to roll).

It won't look like a lot of dough, don't worry.


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet; set aside. In a small saucepan heat and stire caramels and whippping cream over low heat until smooth. Set aside.

Caramel goodness

Lightly beat reserved egg white. Shape dough into 1- inch balls. Roll balls in egg white, then in pecans to coat. Place balls 1 inch apart on the prepared cookie sheet. Unsing your thumb, make an indentation in the center of each cookie.

Bake 10 minutes or until edges are firm. Spoon melted caramel mixture into cookie centers. (If necessary, reheat the caramel miture to keep it spoonable).  Transfer to  a wire rack to cool.

In another small saucepan heat and stir chocolate pieces and shortening over low heat until smooth. Let cool lisghtly. Drizzle chocolate mixture over tops of cookies. Let stand until set.

Makes 36 cookies. Enjoy guys~

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

