RSS Feed

Rum Chocolate Bread Pudding

Posted on

I have recently been obsessed with bread puddings. They are just the ultimate comfort food and you can make them with anything as long as you know the basics.

I have decided since it’s Easter, to add some pizazz to my bread pudding by adding some rum and chocolate chip morsels.

The bread I use is simply the kosher kind, it’s got a nice fluffy center with a sweet taste that makes adding sugar to the bread pudding unnecessary.

This bread here

I lined my dish (8″ X 8″ square glass casserole dish) with foil just to make clean up easier. This recipe is just as simple.

Cut up the bread, as much as you can fit into the casserole dish as possible. add 3 cups milk and 1/2 cup whipping cream to a bowl. Add 1 egg and 1/3 cup rum. Mix together, then add the spices: a teaspoon of cloves, 2 teaspoons of nutmeg, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon.

Pour over the bread and press down with your hands. If you feel you need more liquid or the bread is too dry in areas, just add more milk (not an egg or cream. You can also add more rum if you like). Take the chocolate chips or morsels (I used semi-sweet, but milk chocolate should be just fine, too) and just sprinkle to get into the crevices and over bread. Sprinkle lightly with sugar.

Let sit for 10 minutes, then cover and cook at 425 degrees F for 35-40 min. Uncover and cook for 25 more minutes.

The center could be slighly giggly when you take it out but it should settle when it cools. Before you serve you MUST cool this dish at least for 7 minutes, so that the juices settle and everything marinates into  a yummy mixture.

ENJOY ALL!

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

