RSS Feed

Mock Buttermilk Chicken Breast

Posted on

That's a piece of roasted garlic stuck into the chicken, for fun of course.

You might be wondering what is “mock” in this recipe… is it the chicken? Is it the buttermilk? And yes, it is the buttermilk. I didn’t have on hand, so I went online and looked up what can be done for a decent substitute. Although the 1 cup milk and 1 tablespoon either lemon juice or vinegar (I used lemon juice) didn’t curdle the milk in the 10 minute sitting period, it was still a tasty chicken breast.

1 cup buttermilk (or use my method above)

2 chicken breasts, about 3 lbs total meat

salt and pepper

equal teaspoons of mustard seeds, cumin, nutmeg and chili flakes

2 cloves garlic, peeled, and cut in half

olive oil
Allow the marinade to sit for about 30 minutes, so don’t preheat the oven just yet.

For the marinade:

spices, garlic, salt and pepper, chicken and buttermilk should be placed in a ziplock bag and thrashed around a bit to get the chicken completely covered. Place in fridge (in a bowl to reduce possibility of leakage) for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place chicken without shaking off any of the marinade in an oven safe container.

Drizzle with olive oil and place in oven for about 20 minutes.Internal temp should be about 135-140 degrees depending on how thick your chicken breast slice is.

My handy little meat thermometer sticking out

Serve with rice, cause that’s what I did. But I’m assuming potatoes would be lovely as well.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

