RSS Feed

Inspirations from Nigella

Posted on

Ouefs En Cocette 

I stumbled upon this while watching Nigella Express and flipping through her cookbook of similar name; this is basically a fancy French name for a egg that is prepared with cream in a ramekin, as a souffle would be. I noticed that I’ve always wanted to make this ramekin egg dish from “Retro Rapido” section, and the show just reminded me of how delicious it looked.

It’s Sunday, so I figured a little bit of indulgence was perfectly fine.

note: I added two eggs instead of one for this dish simply because I’m hungry , and my ramekin is large enough to fit it.

2 eggs

white truffle oil

kosher salt, 1 teaspoon max.

1/3 cup of  heavy cream

boiling water

butter, room temperature

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Butter the ramekin generously, and break in two eggs.

Add the salt and heavy cream, making sure not to break the yolks.

Drizzle some white truffle oil, and remember that a little goes a long way, so try not to over-do it. I drizzled the equivalent of 1 teaspoon, maybe half that, in fact!

I just love that glistening oil

Put the ramekin in a larger, oven safe dish. Fill with recently boiling water so it goes half way up the ramekin walls. Place in oven carefully, and cook 20-22 minutes. Original recipe called for 15 min, but since there are two eggs you have to cook it longer.

Serve immediately, with lots of buttered toast.

  

That yolk was dying to be broken

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

