RSS Feed

My Version of Scalloped Potatoes

Posted on

I’m not an expert on potatoes, baked potatoes especially. It’s my secret mission to learn how to cook bacon perfectly (which I’m almost done perfecting) and how to bake potatoes perfectly.

So far I’m thinking that this is a success and is going in my notebook as such.

I am in a bit of a money squeeze this week, and probably next, and I had to use the potatoes somehow, and I’m really glad I was able to use them all.

my victims

9 red potatoes

equal parts thyme, oregano, mace, and garlic powder

butter, about 3 tablespoons for dotting on top

lots of Parmesan (about 1 1/2 cups)

1/2 a medium onion

2 cups heavy cream

lots of cheddar cheese (and by this I mean, about 3 cups of it)

special equipment: just a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish

The prep work:

I was freshly grating the cheddar, this is about a 1/3 of what's needed

slice as evenly as possible the potatoes

caramelized onions

So you start off by caramelizing the onions. This will take a good 20 minutes, and in the meantime, you slice the potatoes and grate the cheese. Or open the bag of already grated cheese, for lazy people, that one would get at the store. I decided to work for my supper, literally today, and grated all 3 cups of cheese necessary. Not counting the Parmesan which goes on top as a final layer of salty goodness.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Once the onions are caramelized you can start your layering process.

layer half the potatoes, like so

Dollop on as evenly as you can the first and only layer of onion on the potatoes, and follow with a layer of cheddar cheese. Repeat process by layering the potatoes again, then, this time, with the spices instead of the onions, and finally more cheddar.

Drizzle all of the heavy cream over this mixture and then dollop with some butter.

Over this add the Parmesan cheese.

dollop with the butter

Place in oven for about 55 minutes to 1 hour. But start checking it at 45 minutes, depending on your oven’s strength.

golden wonderfulness is all I can say

DIG IN!

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

