RSS Feed

French Breakfast Puffs

Posted on

So it has been a while since I’ve been in a baking mood. Not just because it’s been very hot, but also because the last two weeks were stressful with bills and financial matters. I’m happy to say though, that all that’s taken care of, and I woke this morning with my usual urge to bake.

 

I didn’t come up with these on my own, but I must say that the recipe is so easy, I just took one look and the ingredients were in my mind. Takes a total of 35 minutes or so for the whole process, and I’m eating yummy breakfast puffs.

Recipe:

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup melted butter

1/2 teaspoon of almond extract

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

cinnamon (optional) 1/4 teaspoon

 

3 tablespoons butter, meltedc

cinnamon

sugar

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Combine flour,  sugar, baking powder, nutmeg and salt in a bowl. In a separate bowl combine vanilla, almond extract, egg, milk and melted butter.
Add egg mixture to flour mixture and mix just until blended.
Lightly grease muffin cups or line with muffin papers. Fill 2/3 full with batter. Bake 20-25 minutes.
In the meantime, melt butter. In a separate bowl combine sugar and cinnamon. Allow muffins to cool for at least 10 minutes. Roll muffin tops in butter, then sugar.
Adapted from Fresh.
About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

One response »

  1. I referred this to my human – his favorite meal is breakfast – for he’s always looking for another morning meal or morsel to add to his RB. Sounds like it would go good with his Eggs Bokeelia. (see April 8 – I think)
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

