RSS Feed

Unlikely Inspirations: Lentil Marinara

Posted on

I was looking through FoodGawker and I found this lovely blog that I’ve since been slightly obsessed with for the great food photography and inventive recipes. One recipe that caught my eye was this Lentil Marinara.

Original Lentil Marinara

Looking at the recipe, and knowing the taste and heartiness of the lentils myself, I thought putting them over pasta would be a bit too much for me. My version is “lite” if you will, adding in some chicken for the meat and a bit of cheese for some flavor.

My Version

my Lentil Marinara

  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 3 anchovies in oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 teaspoons oregano (I used fresh)
  • 1/4 cup port or red wine
  • 1 can whole tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup green lentils, rinsed and picked over
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup mozerella cheese
  • Chicken stripes/ breast (I had strips, about 7 oz for all 5 of them)

Start off by adding 1 tbsp of oil to a deep braiser dish, I used my Lodge 3-quart dutch oven. When it’s just about heated, about 2 minutes, add in three anchovies and let simmer down, slowly stirring and turning to a paste/mush.

you don't taste the anchovies at all, they just add a natural salty seasoning

Add in the can of whole tomatoes and with some kitchen shears cut them up into eighths. The water goes in next and let simmer for 4 minutes.

While that simmers down you can cook the chicken. It shouldn’t take too long to heat the remaining oil in the pan and add in the chicken. Flavor with salt and pepper to taste. Let cook, about 3 1/2 minutes each side till golden and slightly charred (lovely!)

Add in the lentils and cook on low for about 25 minutes. I like mine a little under cooked so I simmered mine for about 15 minutes, so they still had a bit of bite. Add the oregano, spices of your choosing (I used nutmeg, paprika, and granulated onion), and the port.

oregano and tomatoes just go together, I can't not add them.

Cook for about 8 more minutes and start to layer on the flavor.

nice and marinated together

Place the chicken on the bottom of a plate and layer on some mozzarella. Ladle about 1/2 cup or so on top of the cheese to melt it, and garnish with some more oregano.

delicious end result

Now, for the healthy part: I’ve been dieting and I wanted to see if I could get an accurate number calories counted, or at least, close to it. And I think I’ve done just that. For the whole kip and kabootle it’s around 650 calories. There are meant to be two servings (perfect for lunch tomorrow and Friday), so the total damage, including the chicken and the cheese is: 325!

Happy Eating~

 

**note: my apologies for the poor picture quality, but  I was too darned lazy to get anything but my iphone. Thanks.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

