RSS Feed

Egg Noodles with Leeks, Peas, and Lemon

Posted on

It’s still April and I’m looking through my wonderful issue of Martha Stewart Living.  I’m starting to realize that I’m a closet housewife, only not married, not in a house with a beautiful kitchen and not a backyard for all my gardening and bbq needs.

In any  case I invited my friend over for dinner and Gilmore Girls; a well deserved girls night in. The only person that I could turn to was the one I was holding in my hand: Martha Stewart. She had the best recipe on hand for pappardelle noodles, and while I’ve never seen, nor ever will purchase these noodles (by simple lack of proximity to any stores by me) I decided a good egg noodle will work just as fine.

Egg Noodle with leeks, peas, and lemon

  • coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 medium leeks (I used three) cut into half moons
  • 2 lemons
  • 1 cup peas
  • 9 oz of egg noodles, you can boil the whole package and just use 3/4 of it (a package is usually 12 oz)
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 2 oz pecorino romano cheese (I used Parmesan, grated)

While bringing a large pot of salted water to a boil, melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add leeks and a pinch of salt; cook until leeks begin to soften and are bright in color, about 4 minutes. Reduce heat to medium, and continue to cook, stirring occasionally, until very tender, about 5 minutes or so (mine got brown, and almost caramelized, although the pictures in the magazine suggest that wasn’t supposed to happen).

Turn off heat. Finally grate zest of lemon directly into skillet, and season generously with pepper. Cut a lemon in half and add 1 lemon’s worth of juice. Stir.

When water boils, add egg noodles and cook until just tender, about 5 minutes. Do not dump out water! Use a strainer to transfer the pasta to the skillet. Add peas and stir. Gradually stir in 1 cup pasta water, about 1/2 cup at a time, alternating between the water and ricotta and parmesan.

Toss until completely combined, add more salt to taste, and sprinkle with more cheese. Serve**.

At least I have leftovers for lunch tomorrow

 

**Serves 4 generously (and once again I did the math and it’s about 190 calories per serving, maybe we can say 200 calories depending on the amount of cheese you use. But that’s still pretty good!)

 

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

2 responses »

  1. I feel like I’m an unmarried, not so fancypants kitchen housewife as well … except I work :S that may not make sense, but I am a bit of a homebody.
    This is such a great dish, it looks extremly delicious 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

