RSS Feed

Mango Shrimp Curry

Posted on

Curries are incredibly easy and healthy to make. Once you get a two recipes under your belt their completely in your control. With a few ingredients any dinner (and leftovers lunch for work, as in my case) is 20 minutes away. Roughly.

I got this recipe from Nigella, and I tweaked it to fit my own tastes and my own stocklist in the pantry. This dish is best served with rice.

  • 2 tsp chili oil
  • 1 tbsp garlic oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped or minced
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 bottle of Patak’s Yellow Mango Curry
  • 1 medium sweet potato (or squash)
  •  13-15 pieces of shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 lime

In a large skillet heat the oils and heat the shallot until nice and warm. Keep an eye out to make sure not to burn it. And it does burn quick. Stir, and add in the mango curry and coconut milk. Stir and bring to a boil.

the Mango sauce prior to the coconut milk addition. I love the color.

Lower the heat to keep a constant simmer and add in the sweet potatoes. Cook until tender about 15 minutes or so. Add in the shrimp and cook for 7 minutes longer, till all the shrimp are pink and cooked through.  Add the lime juice and cook for just a minute longer.

Serve over rice.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

One response »

  1. Pingback: West Indies Inspired Chicken Thighs with Coconut Mango Rice « LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

