RSS Feed

Sweet Corn Risotto

Posted on

Today was a hot day. It was hot and it was busy. One of those days, you know. But I wanted to stand by the stove for a while, something about stirring risotto was very appealing to me. I think it just calms my nerves. In any case, as it’s about 98 degrees, I decided to go along with the heat, rather than grumble about it, and make this lovely, and sunny, sweet corn risotto.

I had to teak the recipe to my liking from the original as I had no desire to make enough to serve 8. Regardless of my tampering, the recipe came out wonderfully!

I give this a thumbs up and it was a total success.

Sweet Corn Risotto

adapted from The Novice Chef 

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small shallots, chopped
  • 2 medium fresh sweet corn husks, about 2 cups shaved off
  • 1  cup arborio rice
  • 1 cup pinot grigio wine (or whatever you have on hand)
  • 2 cans cups chicken stock
  • 1/3 cup Romano cheese (Parmesan), grated
  • 2 tablespoons dried Italian herbs
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a heavy pot (cast iron is always great), about 3 quarts, add the 3 tbsp butter and oil. Add the shallots and stir for about 2 minutes till softened, then add the garlic.

In a small saucepan or pot add the the 2 cans of stock . Bring the temperature up and allow it to slowly simmer. The broth added to the risotto must be hot in order to get properly absorbed.

sorry for the mess, I spilled a bit of the stock prior to taking the lovely photo

Cook for 30 more seconds. Add the corn and the rice. The rice has to cook a little, about 3 minutes, for it to start releasing the starches.

nice and toasty

Add in the wine and allow it to absorb completely, stirring constantly. This is a stirring heavy recipe. Stir always, I mean it.

Once that’s all set, start adding in 1-2 ladles at a time of the chicken stock waiting for the rice to absorb it between ladles, stirring constantly. Every ladle or so should take about 4-5 minutes to absorb. Rice is ready when it’s soft, I would taste it prior to the last ladle to see if you can stop there, you don’t want it to get mushy. Usually, 2 cans is just the right amount for 1 cup of rice.

Add salt and pepper to taste, I’d recommend adding less salt and more pepper, to balance the canned stock as it tends to be sodium heavy.  Add the parmesan, the last 1 tbsp butter, and the herbs.

Simmer and stir for about a minute more to make sure the cheese is melted and well incorporated.

It won’t last long, trust me. 

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

