RSS Feed

The Princess Bride Review

Posted on

Finally, finally I’m writing this post. I know it took a while but my weekend was filled with headaches, sore throats, holding my dress down due to fierce winds at The Getty, and feeding my friends.

Without further adieu, my wonderful review!

First, I’d like to say that the book was wonderful. The narration, between the author and his fictional counterpart, Morgenstern, was amazing. It was great to have that world created with the perception of another person, which was perceiving it in his own way, from Morgenstern (fictionally, of course). If that is confusing, it should be. It’s a confusing book. Not really, in a bad sense, but it’s got a lot of stuff to connect people, and to tie up in the end.

The first chapters, the whole background of each of the characters, is my favorite part. In this part you can see how the love grows between Westley and Buttercup, the Princess. You are able to understand the reasoning and the struggles between the “evil” characters and the true evil doers of the plot.

With that said, the movie captured the second half of the book. The rescue of the princess and the wonderful getaway.

As you can see, at this point, I’m not going to give any plot points away as I want you, the readers, to get the need to read, and watch it on your own. The first 3o minutes of the movie was spend on the chapters that I so loved and cherished. So for me, it was a disgrace. For those that watched the movie and not read the book, they missed out on the epic love that Buttercup had, and the great loss she endured when she thought she lost Westley forever. As a result, she agreed to marry the Evil Prince, for business purposes only, of course.

In any case, I give the book 8.5 out of 10 stars.

I give the movie a 5 out of 10 stars. And that’s being more or less generous. Mainly my beef with the movie is that while the narration was in tact, and the important ending scene was great, it wasn’t enough to give the full picture, the full story of The Princess Bride. First of all, the ending, ended happily. That’s not great, since it was better the way the it ended in the novel, full of uncertainty and horror. As well as the backgrounds to give the audience real reasons to root for the characters.

On a side note, my favorite part of the movie was this old hag (whose probably really a man in costume), booing the Princess on her nightmare wedding day.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

3 responses »

  1. I love The Princess Bride! 🙂 Great review. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you!

      My friends think I’m crazy for not loving all of the movie, but even though it would mean making the movie four hours long, I would include the beginning of the book in every instance.

      Reply
      • I think when it comes to movie adaptations of books, movies will always leave book lovers wanting. The Count of Monte Cristo is another example. The movie left out half the book!

Leave a Reply

