RSS Feed

Thursday’s “Meatless Monday” Inspired Breakfast Treat

Posted on

As you may know I’m in love with blueberries, lately. I know once blackberry season starts back up then I’ll be “in love” with blackberries, and forgot about my blueberries till I go into my freezer around Fall.

I got this lovely post in my email about “meatless Monday” from Prevention RD. I bookmarked the link to make this delicious breakfast food as soon as I got home but I couldn’t move.

Over the weekend I got a sunburn, I felt weak, and hot, and my legs were on fire, and I couldn’t even do my daily pilates routine before dinner. I was craving anything but homemade baked goods. Instead, I really wanted frozen pizza.

Luckily, I didn’t have that, and as I’m feeling much better (thanks to time, and aloe vera), Thursday will have to be the day to make this Monday dish.

Lemon Blueberry Baked Oatmeal

  • 1 Meyer lemon, zested and juiced (or whatever lemon you have handy)
  • 2 cups nonfat milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen (FRESH! for me)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray an 8-inch square baking dish with nonstick spray.

Zest lemon; set zest aside. In a bowl, combine milk and juice from the zested lemon to make “buttermilk”.

In a medium bowl, combine the oats, baking powder, salt, spices, and lemon zest. In a small bowl, whisk together the “buttermilk”, butter, egg, and sugar.

Spoon half of the oat mixture into the baking dish, and then half of the blueberries. Add the remaining oat mixture and scatter the remaining blueberries on to the top, pressing them in slightly. Pour in the milk mixture and place in oven.

as you can see the milk mixture doesn’t cover both layers of the oatmeal. That’s completely fine.

Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until the mixture is a light golden brown along the edges, and the center has set up.

The blog was nice enough to provide some nutrional information… though mine came out to be 200 calories because I used the almond milk.

 

 

original from site:

Nutrition Information (per serving): 399 calories; 10.5 g. fat; 49 mg. cholesterol; 486 mg. sodium; 67 g. carbohydrate; 7 g. fiber; 12.3 g. protein

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

2 responses »

  1. Ohhh my gosh. This looks amazing.

    Reply
  2. Lovely recipe, thanks for sharing! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

