RSS Feed

Homemade French Onion Dip

Posted on
I’ve been craving dip for a long time now. While I usually go for ranch because it’s tangier, I wanted something nice and sweet. Luckily, Boyfriend loves French Onion dip so what better excuse to make some!
I used my own knowledge of caramelizing onions as well as some ideas from A Duck’s Oven. This recipe took a total of maybe an hour to make. Not including the 20 minutes or so it took to cool over afterwards. That, of course, is to taste. If you like warm dip, you’ll get to enjoy it sooner.
French Onion Dip
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1 large onions, diced (I used yellow, you can use the same, or sweet onion)
  • 3  garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup beer (I used Wild Blue)
  • 3 tbsp ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 16 oz container sour cream
  • Salt to taste
  • paprika, to taste (I used about 2 tbsp)

Heat up a skillet with the olive oil. Wait for it to get nice and hot, on medium-high heat,  for about 5 minutes.  Add the diced onions and turn the heat down to low. Watch to make sure they don’t burn. After about 5-6 minutes stir the onions and add the butter.

Slowly cook the onions for 30-45 minutes, depending on how high your stove gets. Make sure it doesn’t get really brown, and burnt, but rather a light mocha color.

After it’s nice and caramelized, turn the heat up a little, and add the Worcestershire Sauce, garlic, and the beer. Make sure the liquid is simmering away for a good 10 minutes, if the heat is too high for this, lower it because you want the bitterness of the alcohol to burn away.

Stir the onions into the sour cream.

Add the peppers, salt, and paprika, stir to make sure it’s well incorporated. If chilling, place in fridge uncovered in same bowl for 20 minutes. Stir again before serving.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

