RSS Feed

Tea Party II: Honey Pistachio Orange Cake on Thursday

Posted on

I got this recipe from Baked Bree. I’ve never made a simple cake like this before. The closest I’ve ever come would be coffee cakes, or tarts. In any case, as this was my first go I didn’t alter it at all, however, I think I added a bit more pistachios than necessary, but that’s never a bad thing.

Next time I think I’ll be adding orange juice into the batter, with some cranberries, or some other dried fruits. Anything would be great, which is why the versatility of this cake was as alluring as the promise of honey and pistachio goodness.

I would also recommend you try this with all-purpose gluten free flour from King Arthur as it’s only got 1 cup of flour in it. It shouldn’t change the recipe at all, not the flavor or texture. The cornmeal is gf as well as the rest of the ingredients. So it’s a winner no matter what your dietary needs!

For the cake:

  • 1/2 cup butter at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup honey, separated into 1/2 and 1/4 cups respectively
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup pistachios, ground (I chopped mine up to add some more texture, and I added double the amount of pistachios)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • orange zest (about half an orange)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used vanilla almond milk, it was all I had and it turned out just lovely)
  • 2 Tablespoons orange juice (to go with the 1/4 cup honey for a glaze)

**For the cream (optinal):

  • 1/2 cup cream cheese or mascarpone (at room temperature)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 pint berries (raspberries or strawberries)

Cream together butter and 1/2 cup honey until light and fluffy. While the butter is creaming, combine flour, cornmeal, pistachios, baking powder, and salt. Add the eggs one at a time, and add the orange zest. Add most of the flour mixture to the bowl. Add the milk, and then add the rest of the flour.

Pour the batter into a 9-inch cake pan sprayed with cooking spray. Bake in a preheated 325 degree oven for 30 to 35 minutes.

For the glaze: melt together the remaining 1/4 cup honey and orange juice over low heat. Using a toothpick, poke holes in the cake while the cake is still warm, and brush the honey mixture over the cake.

**To make the cream, beat the mascarpone or cream cheese for 30 seconds. Add the cream and honey. (I added a little more orange zest, I can’t resist zest.) Whip until soft peaks form.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Honey, Honey – Inspired Recipes « As Time Goes…Buy

Leave a Reply

