RSS Feed

Tea Party Part III: Butter Sugar Cookies in Festive Coating

Posted on

Going off of my Tea Party theme I seem to have adopted for the month of July, I decided to make something that goes so perfectly with tea, dare I say better than Biscotti, I’m surprised it took me almost a week to figure out what I was missing out on!

What I’m babbling on about is of course, sugar butter cookies. Almost like the Danish cookies you get for Christmas and devour, more or less, within the week, these cookies are amazingly soft but have great bite. Perfect for dunking, dipping and doing what you must to a cookie and a cup of tea.

I’ve got to admit that I have a bit of a phobia when it comes to making cookies like these, for no other reason than that I have to roll and cut them out, and having limited counter space, all the extra work of cleaning and prepping and cleaning and putting away is too daunting. Thank goodness I was in a cookie mood, no matter the extra chores.

taken from Life’s a Feast

For the cookies:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 Tbs Amaretto, optional
  • ½ tsp vanilla – increase to 1 tsp if omitting the Amaretto
  • 3 ½ cups  flour

To decorate:

  • 1 lightly beaten egg
  • Colored sugar crystals, sprinkles/jimmies or sugared flower petal nibs

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the softened butter and the sugar until light and fluffy (I felt like being completely domestic and wearing an apron, I’m quite proud to say I creamed the butter with sugar by hand).

Add the eggs one at a time, beating briefly after each addition just to incorporate.

Beat in the Amaretto and vanilla and then about a third of the flour until smooth. Gradually beat in as much of the remaining flour as possible using the electric beater, then stir in the rest with a wooden spoon or a spatula.

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead quickly; if you haven’t stirred in all of the flour you can knead in the rest quite easily. Once you have a smooth, homogeneous dough, wrap tightly in plastic wrap and let it chill in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Working with about half the dough at a time, roll it out to a thickness of not less than 1/8-inch , being careful that the dough is very evenly rolled out.

Carefully cut out shapes with your cookie cutters. Gently transfer to a cookie sheet. If you want to decorate, just gently lift the cookies one by one, brush around the edges with a beaten egg, then dip in the decorative sugar before placing on the cookie sheets.

Bake for about 10 minutes. They will be set and appear cooked but they will NOT brown (I’m bolding this for  a reason: they won’t brown, seriously, don’t even attempt it or they will be dry crackers).  You’ll know they are done because they will slide right off the cookie sheet when just nudged with a spatula.

Remove from the oven and gently lift each cookie off of the baking sheet and place on a cooling rack. Allow to cool completely before enjoying.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

