RSS Feed

Easy Peasy Snickerdoodles

Posted on

These are Boyfriend’s favorite cookies. There aren’t many desserts he likes so I figured I’d give him a treat.

This recipe isn’t my first choice; I usually follow the one that’s in my Betty Crocker: Best of Baking cookbook. However, this one was infinitely easier. I did learn something about this recipe, while sometimes they say to space appropriately because the cookies will flatten and widen while baking (but barely do), they really do!

What I learned was that a 2 inch diameter ball was the best, spread about 2-3 inches apart on the cookie sheet. The smaller balls melted too much, therefore were almost cracker-like, they were so crispy! Of course, everything is to taste, and if you like the thinner, crispier cookies, by all means make your balls of dough small.

Snickerdoodles

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • tsp salt
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 2 ½ cups flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • Cinnamon-Sugar Mix
  • 4 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
Preheat oven to 325-350 degrees (I had mine on 325).
Cream the butter and the sugar. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and roll the cookie dough into balls*.
Roll the balls in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.  Place the rolled balls on a greased baking sheet.
Leave as balls because they will flatten as they bake. Bake the cookies  for 10 to 15 minutes (I baked mine at about 12 minutes). The bottoms should be light golden. They will set a little as they cool.
*note: As you can see the dough is made quickly, therefore there was really one chance to slow down long enough to take a photo during this cookie making post. The dough will form quickly as well. I used my stand mixer and once the rest of the ingredients (ie. the flour) were added and mixed into the creamed sugar-butter mixture, it formed into a dough in less than 15 seconds! Therefore, don’t over beat!
About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

