RSS Feed

Chipotle’s Cilantro-Lime Rice

Posted on

Since I’m starting my usual work schedule tomorrow I’m going to be working on packing a lunch again, and making sure I have all of my snack items in order. My problem last year when I started this work schedule, and I that I assumed I’d buy my lunch or break food, and that was not only expensive but horribly unappetizing. Most of the food served by LAUSD is just… overseasoned, underseasoned, or cold.

What faster, and better side dish to anything I feel like making for lunch than rice? As I’m a fan of Chipotle’s rice in general, I decided to give my hand at replicating it. Apparently, there are tons of recipes for this online, as I’m not their only fan. But for this I followed steps that I thought were logical and more or less got the desired result.

Rice

  • approx 2 1/2 -3 cups basmatic rice, cooked
  • 2 tbsp garlic oil
  • 2 tsp pepper flakes
  • 1 lime, juiced and zested
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro
  • salt, to taste

Add oil to a skillet (I used garlic oil for more flavor but it’s up to you), about 2 tbsp on average, but you can add more or less depending on how you like your oil content. Remember, you are trying to coat 3 cups of rice.

 

 

Add in the pepper flakes and cilantro and stir in hot oil for 30 seconds. Add the rice and coat in the oil. Mix in the zest and juice of one lemon. Warm all the way through on the skillet so everything marinades properly, about 4 minutes. And you’re ready to eat!

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

