RSS Feed

Chinese Blackened Chicken

Posted on

I knew today would be busy as soon as I woke up. I had laundry to do. Paintings to receive in the mail (and UPS was not making it easy for me), not to mention preparing for a ton of homework and memorization for the following weeks. Making flashcards, cooking dinner, vacuuming, and even doing my nails all had to be done today.

There was a bright side to all of this however, a new and delicious chicken recipe.

As this is a work day I decided to be a bit loose on the directions, and although I posted the original recipe below (also found here by The Gourmet Kitchen), I eyeballed the measurements and did it to taste and preference. The only thing that I can stress here is the chicken you’ll be using. You really do need to get skin on and bone in. Chicken breasts that are skinless and boneless, and all lean and healthy will not work here. I’m all for healthy and lean, but this chicken is not it. It’s great for lunch, if you only eat one piece at a time you’ll hardly notice the calories, which some steamed rice, you’re all set!

 

Chicken Blackened Chicken

  • 4 chicken wings, a few drumsticks and a few thighs – all skin on and bone in
  • 150mls dark soy – the best you can get will be from an oriental supermarket, it’s really really thick and a little sweet
  • 100mls light soy
  • 150mls shaoxing rice wine (I used unfiltered sake)
  • A few pinches Chinese five spice powder (I omited this, but used a lot of cinnamon, nutmeg, pepper, and cumin)
  • A large thumb sized piece of ginger, minced
  • A tablespoon toasted sesame oil
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • Strands of ginger, red chilli and sliced spring onions to serve

Place the soy, minced ginger and garlic and shaoxing rice wine into a box with a lid and place into the fridge. Marinate for at least 24 hours, turning the box over occasionally so the wings are totally coated in the marinade.

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees.

Decant the chicken drumsticks and thighs (liquid and all) but not the wings into a roasting dish and place into the oven. After 15 minutes add in the wings and cook the whole lot for another 30 minutes in total, turning the pieces over every 10 minutes. Make sure the last 10 minutes is done with as much of the skin facing up as possible and give the skin a pinch of Chinese five spice just before it goes back into the oven.

Remove from the oven, give a drizzle of sesame oil, scatter with the ginger and spring onions and eat – we especially like it with egg fried rice.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

