RSS Feed

Caramel Apple Mini Pies for Apple-Picking Sunday

Posted on

I know that’s it is very rare for me to post twice  in one day, but I was feeling inspired. I, along with many, many others, follow abeautifulmess blog. Elsie wrote an amazing post earlier today (or was it yesterday) about making lists, sticking to them, on completing projects, and on sticking to personal deadlines.

It applies a lot to me right now, especially since it’s two weeks till the dreaded FINAL, and I’m on such a high procrastination kick that I can’t even begin to make plans on how to celebrate after the FINAL. Ugh! So complex, I know.

I guess it all started with my own list. The big 16  to-do items staring at me. I didn’t start my errands till way after 1pm. However, once I got started, I couldn’t stop! I realized how much I’ve neglected my apartment, my laundry, and my self! To cut a long story short, I was so pleased with myself that I added an extrain item to the list: making these lovely things from Yummly.

They will be perfect for tomorrows apple picking trip. I can imagine it now, starting off with these pies for breakfast, before eating mini apple cider donuts at Snow-Line Orchards… ahh bliss. 

Caramel Apple Mini Pies

  • 3 cups apples (peeled and diced, Jonathan or Granny Smith)
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 package refrigerated pie crusts (I used my own-  Martha Stewart’s!)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (my oven is odd, so I baked mine at 350).
Peel and dice apples. Sprinkle with lemon juice.

Combine dry ingredients in large bowl and add apples. Toss to mix. Add vanilla and cream. Melt butter in heavy skillet. Add apple mixture and cook approximately 6 minutes to soften apples.

Remove crusts from fridge. Flatten out one of the doughs on a cutting board.

Gently cut 4 inch circles of dough using a cup, bowl, or cookie cutter with a 4-inch diameter.
Press dough into the muffin tin cups, making a thin even layer on the bottom and around the sides.

Spoon apple mixture into each cup right up to the rim , but no higher.

Roll out the remaining dough and cut out small strips (6 per pie) slightly longer than the width of the top of the pies. Lay strips across the tops in a lattice pattern and attach to edges of pies using the end of butter knife.


Lightly brush egg white over tops of lattice.

Bake pies  for 30-35 minutes or until crust is golden brown and apple mixture is bubbling.

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

