RSS Feed

Ragu for Emergencies

Posted on

This is my fool-proof recipe for ragu. At least it will be. This is the first time that I’ve made it.  But I am not disappointed.

Today started off a little slow for me. I didn’t really get out of my pj’s till noon, and even then it took a few cups of coffee to really get started. I had a short list to start off, and added to it slowly. First off, I had to make lunch, and enough for leftovers for dinner as well as Monday’s word lunch.  I also had to clean my tub for tonight’s bath, and lastly I had to vacuum (it’s been too long). So I did what any sane person would do. I started with something that was totally off the list!

In the end, I cleaned the kitchen, bathroom, vacuumed, and even took out the trash all in an hour. In the meantime, this ragu was bubbling away on the stove. It’s very simple, but very necessary, especially when there’s a chill in the air. (Granted right now it’s about 78 degrees in So. Cal but I’m a bit under the weather and that’s chilly enough for me!)

RAGU

  • 1 lb ground chicken (organic if possible)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 can (standard 14.5 oz Heinz) of tomato sauce
  • 3 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cayanne powder
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder, or two cloves garlic minced
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pasta of your choice- cooked
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, to serve
  • dried basil, to serve

Heat oil in a 4 quart pot- or dutch oven (I used my cast iron Lodge).

Add in the chicken and the onion and cook together for about 7 minutes. It doesn’t matter that the chicken isn’t cooked or the onion isn’t perfectly seared. Add in all seasonings aside from chili powder. Add in tomato sauce. Stir and bring to a boil.

Add in the chili powder with the oregano and simmer on low for 15 minutes.

Add in the sharp cheddar, and stir till barely melted. Add in cooked pasta of your choice and sprinkle with basil and parmesan cheese to serve.

Simple, and perfect!

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

