RSS Feed

Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Posted on

So sorry! I know I said that the post would be up earlier last week, but too much homework got in the way, and by the time everything was said and done, I didn’t want to look at the computer screen any longer than I had to.

But here it is!

photo 3

Jalapeno Popper Chicken

  • 2 chicken breast, preferably organic
  • 4 tbsp cream cheese, whole fat
  • 1 cup of sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup of pickled jalapenos, or 1-2 fresh, chopped into pieces
  • 1 egg
  • panko breadcrumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil (for frying)

Start off by cutting your chicken breast almost in half, but stopping so that one side is still attached, essentially butterflying the breast.

In a small bowl, mix the cream cheese, cheddar, jalapeno, and some salt and pepper.

photo 1

Season the butterflied breasts with salt and pepper as well, on the outside of the breast. Stuff each breast with half of the mixture and fold over as well as you can to cover the filling.  Crack an egg in another bowl and lightly beat, then, pour out enough panko to cover both breasts on a plate. Use as much or as little panko as you like. I wanted a really nice crust so I used about a cup and half of panko.

Dip each breast in the egg and then, in the panko breadcrumbs. Fry in about 2 tbsp of oil in a nonstick skillet for about 3 minutes a side.  Make sure that it’s really hot, to get a good char on the panko.

Then you can lower the heat, and cover the chicken and cook for about 3 minutes a side longer, turning till it’s reached an internal temp of 180 degrees (according to my meat thermometer), or when you cut into it, it’s not pink on the inside.

photo 2

 

Serve with fries, if necessary. Although, this chicken was very filling, and I barely finished it without the rice side I had attempted to eat for dinner as well.

 

Enjoy!

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

