RSS Feed

Cognac, Garlic Steak for my 100th Post

Posted on

Until I checked my blog maybe ten minutes ago, I had no idea this was my 100th blog. I have to say, I’m surprised. I was so busy just trying to keep it semi-regular that I lost count of how many posts I’ve actually put up. I hope they’ve been good so far!

Spring break has been very rewarding. I went to Vegas for the first time, and in that excitement forgot to take any pictures of the Strip at night. Or during the day, for that matter. Boyfriend and I couldn’t even find the Vegas sign, the one below is courtesy of Google images. Go Google. I have to say, having this some 10 days off work and school has been amazing. Although work resumed this week, and school (officially) starts next week, I already have homework and studying lined up for my Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights.

DSC_0086

The break off did give me time to consider crafts. I know this seems like a stretch, but the time off gave me some perspective. Instead of trying to watch all the seasons of  Breaking Bad in about three days, nonestop, I should have been more productive. I used to love to photograph, well, anything really. To draw. To paint. To crochet. Just make something out of nothing, so to speak. So I’ve started a smallish list of crafts that I’ll be working on during the next few months and hopefully into the summer. I’m going to try to get a few homemade gifts out of the way, as well as general jamming and homemade pantry goods.

Things to look forward to is lots of BBQ and overall sauces. As well as, some freezer staples, and jamming fun. Nothing says fun like berries bubbling on a hot day, and slaving over a hot water bath for delicious, slick, jam. Indeed.

Similarly, I will try to share my crafting ideas here as well. For those that aren’t into it, I’m not good at writing, or reading patterns, so those posts will be short, and will probably feature food so there’s a little bit for everyone coming up!

Now to the steak.

I just felt like having red meat. I’m American after all (hehe, watching King of the Hill right now, and it’s seeping into my thoughts). I got this really nice 5 oz tri tip from the grocers the other day and what better day than, actually, a few days ago, to make it and settle my red meat craving?

photo 4

GARLIC STEAK w/ Congnac Sauce

  • 1 steak (preferably an inch thick, at least, any cut you like)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • cognac, optional
  • heavy cream , optional (for the sauce)
  • salt and pepper to taste

All a steak needs is salt and pepper, if the meat is good. That’s what my step-dad taught me, and dammit if he wasn’t right. Start off by patting the meat down on a paper towel (Julia Child’s secret to perfectly browned meat). Season with salt and pepper on both sides. If you like, you can add more flavors, like paprika and granulated onion.

Heat the oil in the pan, and after about five minutes, making sure the pan is nice and hot, add the garlic. Stir for maybe 45 seconds to infuse the oil and take out of the pan. Place the steak into the skillet and top with garlic. Cook for 3 minutes a side depending on thickness. I had to cook mine about 5 minutes a side, and it was still pretty medium rare ( I had a thick, short piece, so I had to be patient).

photo 1

Take off the garlic and place either on same plate or to the side of the skillet and flip your steak over. Place the garlic back on top of the steak.

photo 2

Okay, here I added some cayanne pepper. It was so hot and nice with the cream sauce- just a thought.

Take off the heat and place on plate, covering with foil, to rest. Add in a splosh of cognac to deglaze the pan. Maybe 3 tbsp. Wait a minute for it to cook off, and add approx 1/4 cup of cream. This depends on how you want to make your sauce. Season with salt and pepper (easy on the salt, just a pinch if necessary), and pour over the steak.

photo 3

 

 

Side note: I realize these are awful photos, but I was in a hurry when I was making this, we are talking about steak, aren’t we? Who wouldn’t be in a rush? 😉

About JR

I'm passionate about a lot of things in life. I grew with a unique set of experiences that have guided me throughout my life. I currently work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in sunny CA providing treatment to kiddos in the private sector. Adventure, food, love and laughs are my top priorites.

Leave a Reply

